Skip to content

Meet the Board of Directors

LLOYD M. GARLAND, M.D., BOARD CHAIR, of Lubbock, is an associate clinical professor of surgery at Texas Tech University’s School of Medicine. He has previously served as a physician in the U.S. Air Force and as Chief of Staff for the Lubbock Methodist Hospital. He holds memberships in many medical associations and is a past president of the Lubbock County Medical Association and the Texas Association of Neurological Surgeons. Dr. Garland, is a current member of the House of Delegates for the Texas Medical Association and has worked many years in the area of physician impairments. Dr. Garland is a past member on the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors and is currently serving as a director on the Texas State Bar, Center for Legal Ethics. Dr. Garland received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Texas at Austin and his medical degree from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School at Dallas. Dr. Garland will serve on the board for a term set to expire on Feb. 1, 2025.

WILLIAM BROWN, of San Antonio, is an attorney at USAA in the Corporate Regulatory Counsel Legal Risk & Compliance Group. William is a member of the Texas Bar Association, American Bar Association, and the San Antonio Bar Association. He served on active duty as a Judge Advocate General (JAG) lawyer in the U.S. Army for over 20 years, attaining the rank of Lieutenant Colonel prior to his honorable retirement. William completed the Army Airborne Course, and the General and Staff College. He is a Bronze Star recipient from combat duty during the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. Additionally, William serves on the Board of Directors for the Make-A-Wish Foundation. He received a Bachelor of Science in Human and Organizational Development with a minor in Political Science from Vanderbilt University, a Juris Doctorate law degree from St. Louis University School of Law, a Master of Law from the U.S. Army JAG Law Center and School, and a Master of Business Administration from St. Mary’s University Greehey School of Business.  William is currently enrolled in the Texas A&M University School of Law Risk Management & Compliance Master of Law Program. Mr. Brown is appointed to serve on the board for a term expiring February 1, 2027.

HON. RICARDO (RICK) GALINDO, III of San Antonio is a risk analyst for USAA, and previously served as the State Representative of House District 117. He is former president, vice president, secretary, and treasurer of the Risk and Insurance Management Society. During his service in the Texas House of Representatives, he was a member of the Public Education Committee, Mental Health Committee, and the Government Transparency Committee. Additionally, he is a board member of the Archdiocese of San Antonio Catholic Schools and St. Luke Catholic School. Galindo received a Bachelor of Business Administration in Finance and Risk Management. He is appointed to serve on the board for a term expiring on February 1, 2025.

TOMAS GONZALEZ, of El Paso, is City Manager for the City of El Paso. El Paso City Council unanimously voted to name Mr. Gonzalez as their next City Manager. He began as El Paso’s second City Manager in June 2014 and oversees an $800 million city budget and more than 6,000 city employees. Prior to his selection in El Paso, Gonzalez served in the private sector as well as city government. He has served in various roles throughout his extensive career that spans over 20 years. Mr. Gonzalez served as the City Manager for the City of Irving, Texas from 2006-2013 and led Irving to win the state and national Baldrige awards. He is a national speaker, retired Lieutenant Colonel, has a master’s degree from Texas Tech University, a bachelor’s degree from Eastern New Mexico University, and is a certified Lean Six Sigma Black Belt from the University of Texas. He is appointed for a term to expire February 1, 2023.

GERALD LADNER, SR. of Austin, is a vice president/director of sales at the State Auto Insurance Company. Prior to that, he served as regional president for the company’s Western Region. His career spans 35 years and includes underwriting, risk management and senior leadership roles with Zenith Insurance Co, Zurich North America and Cigna Property & Casualty Group. Ladner previously received Texas Insurance Commissioner appointments to the Texas Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Association (TPCIGA) and Texas Medical Liability Joint Underwriting Association (TMLJUA) board of directors. He is a member of the Insurance Council of Texas, Independent Agents Association of Texas (IIAT) and the Association of Governing Boards of Universities. He currently serves on the Texas Risk and Insurance Professionals and the Insurance Industry Charitable Foundation board of directors (IICF).Ladner earned his bachelor’s degree in psychology from Rollins College where he currently serves as a trustee. He is reappointed for a term to expire February 1, 2027.